Foodtrip: Hibana – Legaspi Village, Makati City

So it’s been a while since I’ve been able to enjoy Japanese food, what with the prohibition from eating raw food while I was pregnant. When the chance finally presented itself, instead of going to one of our usual hangouts, my husband and I decided to try out some new places that appeared while I was away. One such place was Hibana.

It was later than normal when we arrived from lunch since we came from our child’s pedia appointment. Nevertheless, the staff was very accommodating and, dare I say, they were a really great bunch 🙂 We even got this complimentary salad (hmm.. potato?) that they served to us –

salad
salad

Nothing much to it, but it staved off hunger for a bit 🙂

Now, for the fun part – the food!

Salmon Sashimi (Php 450)

salmon sashimi
salmon sashimi

Not the best, but good enough 🙂

Soft Shell Crab Temaki (Php 355)

soft shell crab temaki
soft shell crab temaki

My husband, ever since he first ate this dish at Kai in Greenbelt, has fallen in love with this particular dish… if it’s prepared well. Unfortunately, for his standards, it fell a little flat. According to him, not only was there little meat, but he could even feel the shell still stuck to some parts. He couldn’t really taste the crab, which disappointed him.

Ebi Tempura (3 pcs – starter) (Php 260)
Yaki Onigiri (Php 75)

ebi tempura and yaki onigiri
ebi tempura and yaki onigiri

Decent tempura and the yaki onigiri was good!

Gyudon (available only at lunch) (Php 340)

gyudon
gyudon

I’m quite torn on this one. The hubby and I love the meat – the sauce and the meat, I have no complaint against. It’s really nice and flavorful. The egg, even if it wasn’t raw, went well with the dish. However, my complaint stems mainly at the rice. Even if it’s dribbled liberally with sauce, it was really tasteless. It really tasted like I was eating rice with seriously diluted sauce – almost like water – which was disconcerting because the topping was fantastic. I honestly found myself forcing the rice to be eaten, which was sad 😦 Hoping that that was just an isolated case… I would really love to try this dish again.

Hibana is located at the Ground Floor of The Grand Midori Building, Bolanos Street, Legaspi Village, Makati City.

Leave a Reply

