The Ilocos Journals – Foodtrip: Cafe Leona @ Vigan, Ilocos Sur

If there’s one thing that I like when I’m in the province, it’s eating the local food. And, based on previous trips up north, one of the things I look forward to is seafood, especially if the province is by the water (case in point: Batanes). However, the ironic thing here is, when we asked our hotel about the places they would recommend to eat in, they mentioned Cafe Leona. Why was it ironic? They told us at the hotel: Go eat there if you want Japanese food. LOL. Japanese food it is.

So off we went.

Cafe Leona is located at the start of the Heritage Street (or Crisologo) so it’s not hard to find. During the evenings, it seems that there are a lot of patrons in the area so timing your meal is just about right.

Chirashi (Php 320)

Chirashi
Chirashi

To be honest, I was approaching this with slight skepticism. But when I ate the dish, my doubts vanished. As I said – seafood in the provinces rarely disappoint. I know this dish didn’t 🙂 It was really nice and it even beats some of the “high end” restaurants in Manila for sure!

Unagi (Php 395)

Unagi
Unagi

Finding an unagi dish that’s good is quite rare. Often than not, you get a “meh” or “so-so” dish since unagi can be quite notorious for being malansa (err… fishy is the nearest translation I can think of) if it’s been in stock for too long or if not fresh. Add the fact that my husband is quite notorious for being picky with taste.

However, imagine my surprise that he really enjoyed this one. Aaaaand, for an unagi dish, it’s dirt cheap. Hence, it’s really worth it.

Cafe Leona is located in Crisologo, Vigan City, Ilocos Sur.

Leave a Reply

