Foodtrip: Casa Marcos – Il Terrazzo Mall, Tomas Morato, Quezon City

I was going over my posts and I just realized something – I’ve never written about Casa Marcos! *GASP!* The sacrilege! πŸ˜€ Kidding aside, raise your hand if you actually know the restaurant by name! If you’ve grown up after the 2nd World War until the ’80s in Manila and you’re not familiar with this… *runs to a corner and cries* Ok, so maybe not. For my family though, this has always been our go-to restaurant when it was still located at Roxas Boulevard (or, for the older crowd, Dewey Boulevard – I’m not part of that crowd :p I grew up at a time that it was already called Roxas Boulevard! :P)

For many families, it has always been known for its authentic Spanish cuisine. For us, it just meant one thing – STEAK. However, in the mid-90s, it shuttered and left us pretty much heartbroken. Then, there was some hope because in the last decade, it reopened somewhere in Ortigas and, eventually, the Fort. Then… it disappeared again after a new management took over. I was so sad upon learning it transferred to its current location at Il Terrazzo Mall, Tomas Morato, QC. After all, I live down south and going to Morato was a little… hard. Then, I got pregnant and it turns out that my OB was a jeepney ride away from the new location *rejoices!*

I’ll update this post with more pictures of the restaurant and fare since I know I’ll be there more often. However, here’s what the hubby and I usually eat when we’re here πŸ™‚

Cozy isn’t it πŸ™‚

While waiting for orders, you’ll be given pan de sal and butter as starter. In older times, it used to be regular-sized pan de sal. Still, I really like the fluffy bread that they serve here!

Pan de Sal as starter
Pan de Sal as starter

And of course, the main star!

Steak ala Pobre (choice of Tenderloin) (Php 525)
Description: Steak cooked in oil and garlic, cooked Casa Marcos style

Steak ala Pobre
Steak ala Pobre

If you’re not familiar with the terminology, cooked ala Pobre means cooked in (a lot of) garlic. And before some of you go, “Gross!! Oily!” Do take note that that’s olive oil… less sinful πŸ˜‰

This steak is actually smaller than their other steaks (I do recommend the Angus as well) but I swear I crave for this all the time. I normally will ask it to be cooked medium or medium-rare. And they always deliver it to me perfectly. I’ve eaten at a lot of steak restaurants and while I do have a love affair with some, nothing compares to Casa Marcos. Honest! And the price point is just hard to beat. The regular-sized angus steak (I’ll look for my pics of this and do a separate post) is around Php 1,000 while this one is at the 500 zone. They also have lunch budget meals – a smaller portion of the ala pobre + rice and soup. Really, really affordable I’ll say πŸ˜€

Do yourself a favor and drop by and let me know what you think πŸ™‚

Casa Marcos is located at 2/F Il Terrazzo Mall, Tomas Morato Corner Scout Madrinan Street, South Triangle, Quezon City, Tomas Morato, Quezon City.
Official Site: Casa Marcos
Facebook: Casa Marcos

Leave a Reply

